Fun Foods

I saw a recipe for ham & cheese pockets and knew my kids would love something similar. They are all about fun foods as most kids are. Trouble is, for them anyway, I rarely buy them because of ingredients. These sandwich pockets were assembled, baked and frozen to be re-heated later. I had some cheese and pizza sauce (tomato paste blended with water, herbs and garlic) in the freezer so I was already half way there. All I have to do now is make my pizza dough.

This is a recipe I have been using for years. It is basic and easy, and you can change it up and double it as you wish. Sometimes I add stuff to the dough, I have used blends of flours before. I have never made this gluten free, but have made a cornmeal crust, which is basically polenta spread into an oiled pan.

1 tbsp yeast

1 cup warm water

2 1/2 c flour (you can use half ww flour-in my experience using all ww or all spelt results in a tough crust that isn’t stretchy)

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

oil & cornmeal for the pan

Dissolve yeast in the water, stir in the flour, 2 tbsp oil and the salt. Mix 20 strokes. Cover and let rest for 20 minutes. Heat oven to 425 degrees. Oil and sprinkle cornmeal in your pan, divide dough in half, roll or pat out. Put on your desired ingredients. I have found the fewer ingredients the better. Bake approximately 10 minutes, more or less depending on your oven. We usually make a pepperoni pizza (tomato paste, cheese and pepperoni) and a veggie pizza (tomato paste, cheese and fresh tomato and basil, or zucchini and mushroom, olives, etc.)

So I’ll let you know how these turn out.

Yesterday I did a little more organizing, cleaned out the top two drawers of the flatware chest. Small things that could be “treasure” usually end up there. Since I organized our bookcase recently I had a new place for tiny treasures and the chest will be used only to store flatware. Woot! I’m not really going off any list, just doing it sporadically. Once something is organized, I feel motivated to move to another project. Small things, but it makes me happy.

Today is Yugioh/Magick the Gathering homeschool card playing day (wow that is a mouthful). I hope homeschool park days start up soon. Or I may just start one of my own here in Southeast, I am not sure what park to meet at yet. We haven’t met many homeschoolers this year, but have managed to stay busy anyway. 19 more days until Salila is officially a homeschooler! Yeehaw!

 

 

 

About andalimama

39 Year Old Mother of 3, Reader, Daughter, Wife, Sister, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

