All lentils are NOT created equal…

Ok this one has been brewing in my head for a couple days.

It has taken me a really long time to get around to trying French (supertinygreen) lentils. Before, even after being veggie for eons I rarely ate them. Drew always said they gave him heartburn. Personally, I think he didn’t really like them. Looking back, any recipe I made with them was just meh. And if I do say so myself, I’m a decent cook. I honestly don’t think I like the regular ol brown lentils. There, I said it.

Then a while back I tried red lentils. Yum. I mostly like them in Indian dishes but I’ve tried a few soups with them also. Last week I picked up the supertinygreen lentils for a stew. Wow. Ok, now *that’s* what I’m talking about! Thing is, I just made up something for them to go in, nothing major. No fancy schmancy recipes or anything! The only thing I will change is adding a couple fresh tomatoes when they are in season instead of the stewed tomatoes. Supertinygreen lentils, I did not fear you. Everyone loved them. These will become a new staple in our house. Hooray!

So, here is the result:

2 cups French green lentils

1 large onion

few cloves garlic

handful or two of mushrooms

3-4 carrots (mine were small, if yours are bigger just use a 1 or2)

2 potatoes

can of stewed tomatoes (i would normally use fresh, but they aren’t in season. i do think the tomatoes add something, or i would just omit them)

olive oil for sauteeing onions and carrots (about 2 tbsp)

around 6-8 cups broth (i used veggie, use whatever you have)

Tbsp basil

2 bay leaves

sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste

First, I sauteed the onion in the olive oil by itself for a couple minutes, then added the carrots, sauteed them for a couple minutes, then added the mushrooms and sauteed them for another couple minutes…all on medium heat. I like to cook my onions this way as I feel it brings out a great flavor. So the onions will cook a bit longer than anything else. As they don’t burn you can saute them this way for a while, I usually do 6-8 minutes. I then added everything else! The broth, the tomatoes, the potatoes, the herbs.  I let this cook about 45 minutes to an hour all total. Towards the end I tasted it and added a little sea salt and lots of freshly ground black pepper. Probably 8 turns of the peppermill? Well that is a personal taste, you can adjust as you like. I made some brown rice to go with it, but I enjoyed it without. This fed 6 of us, with leftovers!

Gooooooooooooo Lentils!

About andalimama

39 Year Old Mother of 3, Reader, Daughter, Wife, Sister, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

